Ludington's Friday Bookclub

 

 

Ludington Library's Bookclub for Adults 
 

The "Rabid Reader" Book Club welcomes new members anytime at the Ludington Library. Meetings are on the third Friday of each month, 9:30 am, at the Ludington Library. Their next meeting will be July 21 at 9:30 am, discussing "The Wednesday Wars" a Young Adult book by Gary D. Schmidt.

 

BlackEyesSusans From Amazon.com:  

 

TOP 5 SUNDAY TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER

For fans of Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn comes an electrifying novel of stunning psychological suspense. “My book of the year so far . . . breathtakingly, heart-stoppingly brilliant.”—Sophie Hannah, New York Times bestselling author of The Monogram Murders

 

I am the star of screaming headlines and campfire ghost stories. I am one of the four Black-Eyed Susans. The lucky one.

 

As a sixteen-year-old, Tessa Cartwright was found in a Texas field, barely alive amid a scattering of bones, with only fragments of memory as to how she got there. Ever since, the press has pursued her as the lone surviving “Black-Eyed Susan,” the nickname given to the murder victims because of the yellow carpet of wildflowers that flourished above their shared grave. Tessa’s testimony about those tragic hours put a man on death row.

 

Now, almost two decades later, Tessa is an artist and single mother. In the desolate cold of February, she is shocked to discover a freshly planted patch of black-eyed susans—a summertime bloom—just outside her bedroom window. Terrified at the implications—that she sent the wrong man to prison and the real killer remains at large—Tessa turns to the lawyers working to exonerate the man awaiting execution. But the flowers alone are not proof enough, and the forensic investigation of the still-unidentified bones is progressing too slowly. An innocent life hangs in the balance. The legal team appeals to Tessa to undergo hypnosis to retrieve lost memories—and to share the drawings she produced as part of an experimental therapy shortly after her rescue.

 

What they don’t know is that Tessa and the scared, fragile girl she was have built a fortress of secrets. As the clock ticks toward the execution, Tessa fears for her sanity, but even more for the safety of her teenaged daughter. Is a serial killer still roaming free, taunting Tessa with a trail of clues? She has no choice but to confront old ghosts and lingering nightmares to finally discover what really happened that night.

 

Shocking, intense, and utterly original, Black-Eyed Susans is a dazzling psychological thriller, seamlessly weaving past and present in a searing tale of a young woman whose harrowing memories remain in a field of flowers—as a killer makes a chilling return to his garden.

 

Visit or call the Libraries at (231) 843-8465 or (231) 757-2588 to reserve a copy, or to ask about getting a copy through MeLCat. 

If you are interested in joining the Rabid Reader book group, or would like more information, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., or ask for details at the Ludington Front Desk.

 

 


Rabid Readers Reading List for 2017*

12/16/2016: “A Man Called Ove” by Fredrik Bachman, fiction, c. 2015

1/20/17: "A Wrinkle in Time" by Madeleine L'Engle, fiction, c. 2014

2/17: "Mary Coin" by Marisa Silver, fiction, c. 2013

3/17: "The Fortunes" by Peter Ho Davies, fiction, c. 2016

4/21: "A Fall of Marigolds" by Susan Meissner, fiction, c. 2014

5/19: "The Awakening" by Kate Chopin, fiction, c. 1899

6/16: "Originals: How Non-conformists Move the World" by Adam Grant, nonfiction, c. 2016

7/21: "The Wednesday Wars" by Gary Schmidt, YA fiction, c. 2007

8/18: "Black-Eyed Susans" by Julia Heaberlin, fiction, c. 2015

9/15: "Perfume River" by Robert Olen Butler, fiction, c. 2016

10/20: "A Tree Grows in Brooklyn" by Betty Smith, classic fiction, c. 1943

11/17: "Lost to Time: Unforgettable Stories that History Forgot" by Martin W. Sandler, nonfiction, c. 2010

 

* Subject to change

 

 

 
a6c25404b279ee5069887eac43c34f6f.jpg