Summer Reading 2024 Banner

2024 Summer Reading Program

Mason County District Library will kick off its annual Summer Reading Program on June 7. We are offering a lineup of free programs and activities for all ages in both Ludington and Scottville libraries. Check our Events Calendar for a complete list.

Make sure to pick up your Summer Reading sheets in either Ludington or Scottville so you can track your progress this summer. Follow the directions on the sheet, and turn it in by August 31st for great prizes! All ages are eligible for summer reading participation.

Unless otherwise stated, Monday events are at the Ludington Library; Wednesday events are at the Scottville Library. All MCDL events are FREE. Children under 8 must be accompanied by a guardian. Events are subject to change due to unforseen circumstances. Check our Facebook page for updates.

June

June 7, Friday – Kickoff from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. at Ludington Marina park

June 10, Monday – Duct Tape Class, 1 p.m. in Ludington

June 12, Wednesday – Duct Tape Class, 1 p.m. in Scottville

June 17, Monday – Summerween, 1 p.m. in Ludington

June 19, Wednesday – Summerween,  1 p.m. in Scottville

June 24, Monday – Tie Dye T-Shirts, 1 p.m. in Ludington

June 26, Wednesday – Tie Dye T-Shirts, 1 p.m. in Scottville

July

July 1, Monday – Reptile Shows, 1 and 3 p.m. in Ludington

July 2, Tuesday – Reptile Shows, 1 and 3 p.m. in Scottville

July 4, Thursday – CLOSED for July 4th

July 8, Monday – Planetarium Shows, 1 p.m., 2 p.m., and 3 p.m. in Ludington

July 10, Wednesday – Boat & Paper Plane Races, 1 p.m. in Scottville

July 13, Saturday – Teens Smash Bros. Library Cup, 3 p.m. to 7 p.m. in Ludington

July 15, Monday – Magic Show, 1 p.m. in Ludington

July 17, Wednesday – Magic Show, 1 p.m. in Scottville

July 22, Monday – Cirque Amongus, 2 p.m. in Ludington

July 24, Wednesday – Cirque Amongus, 2 p.m. in Scottville

July 25, Thursday – Teens Chocolate Olympics, 6 p.m. in Ludington

July 29, Monday – Paint Day, 1 p.m. in Ludington

July 31, Wednesday – Paint Day, 1 p.m. in Scottville

August

August 5, Monday – Worm Day, 1 p.m. in Ludington

August 7, Wednesday – Worm Day, 1 p.m. in Scottville

August 12, Monday – Conservation District, 1 p.m. in Ludington

August 14, Wednesday – Conservation District, 1 p.m. in Scottville

August 19, Monday – Downtown Scavenger Hike, 1 p.m. in Ludington

August 21, Wednesday – Riverside Park, 1 p.m. in Scottville

August 22, Thursday – Teens Nerf Night, 6 p.m. in Ludington

August 26, Monday – Summer Special Program, 1 p.m. in Ludington

August 28, Wednesday – End of Summer Party, 1 p.m. in Scottville

August 31, Saturday – End of Summer Reading!

Read for Rides at the Western Michigan Fair!

Read for Rides at the Western Michigan Fair! Sign up in Ludington or Scottville starting Friday, June 7th. Make sure to check out some books while you are there to get a fast start. Sheets are due by Friday, August 2nd.

Read 5 Library books and have them verified by a librarian to get one FREE RIDE at the Western Michigan Fair on Thursday, August 8 from 3:00-11:00 p.m. Limit: 10 Rides per student.